/

—_—
THE LUCK DECK FOR CYBERPUNK RED

The original Luck Deck for Cyberpunk 2020 was created by Matthew Jason Parent for the Blackhammer
Cyberpunk Project in 1997. It's still available to view at http://www.ambient.ca/cpunk/luck.html. This
version is adapted from the original Luck Deck mechanics, with two core changes. First, of course, this
version has been altered for compatibility with Cyberpunk Red. Second, the Luck Deck has been
streamlined to 54 cards in order to use a deck of playing cards with two distinct jokers.

The concept is relatively simple: at the beginning of each session, each player draws a number of cards
equal to their Luck stat. In lieu of Luck points, they play these cards for the listed effect:

Title Description Cards

Luck +1 to any action A-5, all suits

Mental +3 on Mental Group Stats (INT, WILL, COOL, EMP) 6-10, Clubs

Combat +3 on Combat Group Stats (TECH, REF) 6-10, Spades

Physical +3 on Physical Group Stats (BOD, DEX, MOVE) 6-10, Diamonds
Introduce a new element to the scene, be it a key detail,

Connection new character, or relevant fact. 6-10, Hearts
This card makes any botch or failed roll into such a

Too Much success that the player will wish they had just failed. Jack, Clubs

Second

Chance Re-roll a failed action Jack, Spades

Opponent Fails |An opponent automatically fails one Skill Check. Jack, Diamonds

Breakthrough [+3 to any roll involving a skill the character does not have |Jack, Hearts
+3 to any other character's action by providing roleplayed

Support support and playing this card Queen, Clubs
Replace this card at any time for the last card discarded

Claim or played by any player Queen, Spades
You may give any 2 cards you have to other players and

Leadership replace them with new cards from the stack Queen, Diamonds
All players may draw one card into their pools in

Rally exchange for this card and a rallying call or event. Queen, Hearts
A new plot element is introduced; roll on the Random

Subplot Subplot Table. Draw 2 cards after card is played Kings, all suits

Haste Gain first initiative for one round Joker

Seize Initiative |Re-roll your initiative for a combat scene Joker



http://www.ambient.ca/cpunk/luck.html

Luck: This card works like a Luck point, rules-as-written. +1 to any roll.

Mental: This card gives a larger bonus to rolls using the Mental Group of stats: Intelligence, Willpower,
and Cool. +3 to any rolls using these stats.

Combat: This card gives a larger bonus to rolls using the Combat Group of stats: Technique and
Reflexes. +3 to any rolls using these stats.

Physical: This card gives a larger bonus to rolls using the Physical Group of stats: Body, Dexterity, and
Movement. +3 to any rolls using these stats.

Connection: Introduce a new and relevant element to the scene. This could include a background detail
the characters haven't yet noticed, a character who could logically be in the area, or a link to an earlier
plot detail. The new element must be compatible with your group’s suspension of disbelief.

Too Much: You succeed on this roll, but in such an extreme way you’ll wish you had failed.

Second Chance: You can reroll one failed action.

Opponent Fails: You can declare one action of another character to have failed after the dice indicate
otherwise.

Breakthrough: Gain a significant bonus to a skill you have no previous training in, +3 to any action using
a skill with no points invested.

Support: Grant +3 to another character’s action if your character has the appropriate fictional
positioning to provide support.

Claim: Play this card to take the last card played by another player. Great for nabbing those rare
‘Opponent Fails’ and ‘Haste’ cards.

Leadership: You may give two of your cards to other players, and take two draws from the deck.

Rally: If your character has the appropriate fictional positioning for a rallying cry or quick speech, all
other player characters in range can draw another Luck card.

Haste: Your character is placed on the top of the initiative order for one round.

Seize Initiative: You can reroll your character’s initiative for the whole encounter.

Subplot: When you play this card, your character is now linked into the scene in a new and plot-relevant
way. Roll 1d10 and consult the random subplot table:

Roll 1d10 Resuit
r GM Chooses Nemesis: Someone in the scene holds a grudge against the character, or
2 Nemesis the character holds a grudge against them if appropriate.
3 Nemesis Romance: Either someone in the scene is a romantic interest for the
character, or an existing romantic interest has a stake in the scene.
4 Romance . .
Personal Stake: The character has a direct personal stake in how the
5 Personal Stake . .
scene is resolved that they only just became aware of.
6 Personal Stake | Mistaken Identity: The character is mistaken for someone else.
7 Personal Stake | suspicion: The character is immediately under suspicion of committing
8 Mistaken Identity | a crime or other foul act...whether or not they actually did.
g Suspicion
10 You Choose After the subplot card is in play, draw two more cards from the deck.
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Here’s some general mechanical notes:

Just like Luck points, you may play as many relevant cards as you wish on any given roll.

If your card grants a numerical bonus, it must be played before dice are rolled.

Cards which negate or alter dice results (i.e. Opponent Fails or Second Chance) must be played
after the dice hit the table, but before the action is resolved in the fiction.

e If a player decides that they do not like their hand at the beginning of a session, they can opt to
discard it. They do not get another hand; instead, they can play the session as if they had luck
points per rules-as-written. If they decide to do this their luck expenditure does not count as a
‘Luck’ card for the purposes of the Claim card, and they are not eligible to draw a card if the Rally
card is played (at the GM'’s discretion, though, they may regain one Luck point instead)

e If a player comes to the end of a session and really likes their hand, they can opt to keep it for
the next session. However, choosing to do so means they will not replenish any of the cards
they have already spent.



